Michigan's Graduated Licensing Law for Teens
Minimum age of 14 years and 8 months by first day of
hours of classroom (minimum requirement). 6 hours behind the wheel. Pass all
State of Michigan requirements. Written exam.
Level 1 License
No fee. Minimum 14 years and 9 months of age. Vision exam. Health standards. Written approval of parents.
May drive only with parent
or designated licensed adult over age 21.
Prep for Driver Education:
30 hours of the required 50 behind the wheel
with parent, including 2 of the required 10
hours night driving,
and having held a
Level I License for not less than 3 continuous
months from the date that the license was issued
by the Secretary of State. The Driving
Experience Log must be presented on the first day of
Segment 2 (Either written or on the phone app is
acceptable for Segment 2)
6 hours of classroom. Written exam.
Complete what remains of the required 50
hours behind the wheel; including what remains of the 10
hours required for night driving. Review study guides.
Fee varies. Minimum of 6 months at level
1. Vehicle inspection. Off-road test. On-road test.
Official Documents and ID required. A PRINTED
COPY of the
Driving Experience Log must be presented at the
Road Skills Test. (The phone app is NOT
Level 2 License
Fee. 16 years of age, 90 days crash/ violation free prior to
application for level 2 license. May drive without
supervision except from 10pm to 5 am. The law prohibits
a driver with a Level 2 GDL from operating a motor
vehicle carrying more then one (1) passenger who is
under 21 years of age unless:
a. passengers are members of the driver's immediate
b. travel is to or from school or a school-sanctioned
Driving is permitted from 10pm to 5 am, only if driving to and
from employment or with a parent or designated adult
over the age of 21.
Level 3 License
No fee. 17 years of age. Minimum of 6 months
at level 2. 12 consecutive months of violation/ crash
free driving at level 1/level 2 prior to application for
level 3 license. Full driving privileges with no